Praying in the Moment of Temptation

I have been thinking about how strong my willingness is to pray to God for help instead of yielding to addiction in the moment of temptation.  It is something worth considering and working on.

I tend to escape into working on Family History.  It is a “good activity” but I take it too far: I stay up too late; get headaches from working on the computer too much; and sometimes work on it instead of spending time with my family.   Whatever my current addictive behavior is, whether it is using some sort of substance or engaging in some sort of activity, it is all about numbing painful feelings and me not having very good boundaries.

Tonight at 9pm, if I am not able to step away from the computer, I will pray for help to stop.

Leave a Reply

